聯繫我們

產權保險的歷史

購買房地產可能是一家公司慣性的投資;但也有可能是是一個人這輩子最大的投資。無論如何,每筆交易都包含審核,和風險防范的要素 - 這兩者都可經由產權保險來保障。

產權糾紛的歷史

在未有產權保險機構之前,在美國購買房地產是一項高風險的投資。物業在交易期間,辦理財產契約轉讓人員是根據公共記錄的搜查或檢視了產權歷史簡報書後來奠定所有權的權利。理論上來說,房地產所有權的狀況應表示其產權的清白,也就是說,其產權所附帶的任何糾紛已在產權轉讓前被澄清; 然而,有限的房產搜查資源以及沒有保險來作後盾,或因未解決的法律問題而失去財產的風險還是廣泛的存在。此外,如果一個未解決的法律問題對貸款人或貸款公司造成權益上的損害的話,貸款人或貸款公司必須提出法律的證明以便從辦理財產契約轉讓人員那裡獲取經由他/她的錯誤疏忽而導致的損害賠償,這可以是一件非常困難的事。

瓦森 控告 穆里黑

雖然現在全美都有房產購置保護法(如同世界其它的地區),房地產所有權保險的實行卻是在1868年賓夕法尼亞州高等法院一項判決後才開始。 此案件,瓦森控告穆里黑,57賓州. 161, 解決了一項在經過房地產記錄的搜查或檢視產權歷史簡報書之後所購置的房地產產權的歸屬權糾紛案。辦理財產契約轉讓人員在做產權記錄調查的時候發現了一項對該房產的扣留條款,辦事員於是就將此案件轉交給律師來處理。該律師告之此項對該房產的扣留條款不具法律效力,有了來自律師的保證,辦事員和買方於是就完成了購屋手續。

但不久之後,該房地產卻因那條扣留條款在警署被拍賣以便付清前債,原來那項扣留條款對該房產的扣留條款是具有法律效用的。

法院裁定,既然那項對該房產的扣留條款具有法律效用,警署拍賣該房產乃屬合法。依據法律,辦理人員要為其“疏忽”,或未能對案件做謹慎的處理才需要來承擔責任。由於該辦理人員是依據律師的意見來處理此扣留條款,證明此辦理人員對此條款有加以謹慎的處理,因此處理此交易的辦理人員不需為其錯誤的資詢承擔任何責任。

第一間產權保險公司

此判決,和買方因判決的損失,啓發了一組在費城辦理財產契約轉讓的人員,也促使他們建立一個專為保護無辜買家所設立的不動產方案。 於是在1876年,這個小組成立了第一家產權保險公司,其使命就是保護“房地產和抵押貸款的買家,以避免因有糾紛的產權,留置權,及產權扣留條款等導致買方的損失”,並加以補充說,“透過這些方案,不但能比以前加快房地產轉讓的速度,也會加強房地產轉讓的安全性”。

此後不久,多家產權保險公司成立於美國各地,包括紐約,芝加哥,明尼阿波利斯,舊金山和洛杉磯等大城市。

美國第一產權公司的誕生

在1889年,就在產權保險於美國誕生後的20年,Orange County Title Company奧蘭治縣產權保險公司成立,此乃美國第一產權保險公司的前身。

列印 字體大小 A A A

CostsFirst™

費用第一:一個用於計算交易費用的網上工具。這個工具讓你可以把費用清單用電郵,打印,或儲存起來,適用語言有:西班牙語,中文,韓文,越南語,日語和英文。
今天就來試用吧!

Comprehensive
Calculator

在線資源用於獲得與結算相關的費用包括產權保險費,代言費,登記費和轉讓稅.
啟動計算器

Email This Page

Please Contact Me

Contact Us

History of Title Insurance

History of Title InsuranceThe purchase of a property may be the largest investment a consumer makes in his or her lifetime; it could also be business as usual for a large investment company. Either way, an integral part of that transaction is assessing for and protecting against risk – both of which are addressed by securing title insurance.

Historical Problems

Prior to the institution of title insurance, purchasing real estate in the United States was a far riskier venture. During a property transaction, conveyancers would establish the rights of title to a property based on public records searches or other property abstracts. The title would necessarily be cleared of any liens, rights or other encumbrances prior to conveying the property to new buyers or lending against the property; however, with limited resources and no insurance backing, the risk of losing a property due to unresolved issues was still significant.  Additionally, if an unresolved issue caused problems, the harmed borrower or lender would have to prove legal negligence in order to collect damages from the conveyancer for his or her errors, which can be difficult.

Watson v. Muirhead

Although it now protects land purchases across the United States (as well as other areas of the globe), the practice of insuring title began after a Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruling in 1868. The case, Watson v. Muirhead, 57 Pa. 161, settled the matter of ownership over a property purchased after an “abstract of title,” or title records search, was conducted. During his research, the transaction conveyancer found a lien on the title, which he then turned over to an attorney for legal opinion. The attorney advised that the judgment was not in fact a valid lien. With this assurance, the conveyancer and purchaser completed the transaction.

Not long afterward, the property was sold at a Sherriff’s sale in order to pay off the lien, which was in fact lawful.

The court ruled that the lien, and thus the Sherriff’s sale, was indeed lawful, and the conveyancer involved in the transaction was not held liable for misinformation because the legal standard was “negligence,” or failure to act with due care. Since the conveyancer had relied upon an attorney’s opinion that the lien was invalid, the conveyancer had use due care — even if he was incorrect.

The First Title Insurance Company

The judgment, and subsequent loss to the purchaser, then prompted a group of Philadelphia conveyancers to establish a way to protect the innocent buyers of real property. In 1876, this group formed the first title insurance company, whose mission it was to protect “the purchasers of real estate and mortgages against losses from defective title, liens and encumbrances,” and added, “through these facilities, transfer of real estate and real estate securities can be made more speedily and with greater security than heretofore.”

Shortly thereafter, title insurance companies became established in other large metros throughout the United States, including New York City, Chicago, Minneapolis, San Francisco and Los Angeles.

The Birth of First American

In 1889, just over 20 years after the birth of title insurance in the United States, the Orange County Title Company was established; the original predecessor to First American Title Insurance Company.

 

Print Font Size A A A

Comprehensive
Calculator

An online resource for obtaining estimates of settlement-related costs including title insurance premiums, endorsement charges, recording fees and transfer taxes.
Launch the Calculator

Email This Page

Please Contact Me